The Internet Has Made Knowledge Immediately and freely Available | Discuss The Advantages And Disadvantages

The web has made it easier and economical to acquire skills and knowledge /the web has revolutionized many aspects of our life. It has made the process of learning instant and free with the help of electronic gadgets. The subsequent paragraphs will talk about the benefits and drawbacks of this phenomenon. There are several merits of knowledge being freely and quickly available on the internet. To begin with, the ones who do not have enough money to pay tuition fee can now learn online. All they require is a mobile phone with a 4G connection to watch educational videos and read articles. For example, since the introduction of 4G in India, many underprivileged have started acquiring new skills. Moreover, it has become amazingly fast to find information now. Although knowledge was available before as well, it used to take hours finding a fact in the book. Bu now, all that is required is a google search to find an answer for even the most complicated question. On the other hand, there are some demerits of the trend as well. Firstly, the scholars are spending a lot of time learning in front of the screen because of which their eyes are getting hurt. More the time spent in front of the screen, more it leads to vision issues. For instance, the kids who have been taking online classes are facing some issues. Secondly, a lot of irrelevant and unreliable information is available on web which can cause more harm than good. If everyone is exposed to such knowledge, it can lead to a lot of fake news and rumors being spread. Despite the best efforts to control the same, this has become a major crisis. To conclude, this essay has covered both the benefits and drawbacks of knowledge being available at no cost. While the underprivileged can now learn and time is being saved because o the ongoing trend, neither the health issues nor the spread of irrelevant information is getting controlled.