The internet allows us to stay connected with each other no matter where we are. On the other hand, it also isolates us and encourages people not to socialise.

Today, developments in the cyber-space have revolutionised the way people to communicate. Although it has created better contact options to the users, they have less active relationships than the past, and I believe that this has caused people to become more isolated. On the one hand, citizens are able to communicate better through the web in more different ways. The first is the expansion of social networks. Facebook, twitter or email are three familiar examples that have led all age groups to be able to communicate via their electronic devices. They can see their friends’ pictures, opinions or even their news shared on their page. In addition, trading has become more straightforward. Businesspersons can easily contact to their partners through the Internet via teleconference or Skype; however, in the past trading was not as simple as now, and traders only had to travel and meet their partners. As a result, electronic communication between the businesses has caused people to socially feel closer with each other. On the other hand, innovations in telecommunication have caused humans to become more isolated socially. One reason is that they are used to have less face-to-face relationships. Had the Internet not developed so fast, people would have participated in more social gatherings. For example, twenty years ago, as a high school student, I and others peers were encouraged by our authorities to participate in weekly meetings to discuss educational, social or even personal issues, becoming more socially active, but now many students are interested less. Another reason is that cyber-addiction is a leading reason that citizens to feel less elated. Clearly, the more technology of smartphones develops, the more individuals will be engaged in more variety of applications and become more dependent on them. Therefore, they will spend less time on travelling, spending their time with their friends, becoming more secluded and desperate. In conclusion, modernization has had some positive influences on humans’ relations. However, I personally believe that it has caused people to socially become less active due to spending longer hours on their computers and have less close communication with each other than before.