The influence of social media on teenagers

Nowadays social media is extremely popular, everyone cannot imagine themselves without it. But do people understand how social media influences their life? Is there always only a positive outcome from using it? How to detect a suffering person and how to deal with trauma? It is a well-known fact that teenagers are more likely to be influenced by social media. From day to day teenagers use their smartphones, surf the net, and are into social networking sites. The most used social media platforms among teenagers are Facebook, Instagram, Snapchat, Youtube, and Twitter. On the one hand, social media may help with cultivating friendships and reducing loneliness. But on the other hand, it can cause mental health problems such as depression and anxiety. One study shows that depression rates are rising due to smartphone usage. Adolescents, who spend more than three hours per day using social media, may be at increased risk for mental health problems, especially internalizing problems. Unfortunately, as anything social media has disadvantages. The first one is disruption of sleep, which can lead to chronic insomnia and lack of focus during the day. The second is developing unrealistic views and peer pressure, which can lead to low self-confidence and even depression. But the most terrifying thing is cyberbullying, which is a big problem nowadays. According to the statistic, around 61% of teenagers are being bullied online. Usually, it can have a huge impact on a teenager and can lead to irreparable damage. But, luckily, despite all disadvantages, social media has benefits. The first one is that social media allows teenagers to appreciate different perspectives and worldviews. The second is that it can help develop stronger communication and technical skills, which can be useful in every aspect of life in the future. The last is that social media gives teens the unique opportunity to connect with others who share similar ideas and interests. Consistently parents can not detect that the teenagers are cyberbullied or addicted to social media, however, there are signs that the individual has problems online. The first sign is that there are changes in energy level and enthusiasm for offline life. A teenager becomes more private, he is always exhausted and unhappy, also he may have suicidal thoughts. The second is problems in engagement in face-to-face conversation. Last, but not least is the amount of time a child spends doing other activities such as sport, homework, and other hobbies. An individual starts spending more and more time online, isolating himself from real life. Parents have to talk, help and support their children. If they do not, it will lead to self-destructive behavior, self-harm and suicide. In protecting teenagers, it is important to take a few steps. Parents need to set reasonable limits, which cannot only protect but, also, teach them to plan the day. Then they need to explain things that are not okay, it can prevent future conflicts and problems. Finally, the most important and useful is talking about social media and reminding teens that social media is full of unrealistic images. To summarize, social media has cons, like pros. But what is more important is that social media needs to be used in balance as part of a lifestyle to prevent problems, which are connected to them.