The increasing number of global plastic waste has been a compelling issue to the public in recent years.

The increasing number of global plastic waste has been a compelling issue to the public in recent years. Although some believe that there is an invention that makes plastic to be more eco-friendly, it is proven that plastic still become major substances that contaminate landfills in every country. This essay will discuss the reason why people still utilize this material in many activities and provide solutions to settle this problem. The usage of plastic has helped the industrial sector to save more expenditure to wrap their product more efficiently than other materials. It is because plastic is highly flexible and it can be designed in many shapes. Numerous companies, particularly in Asia, use plastic as part of their material to produce their main product for instance bags, containers, equipment, and furniture. In addition, the mass production of plastic reduces their cost so that merchants can minimize their expenditure to gain more profit. Therefore, although some businessmen agree that plastic brings detrimental effects to the environment, they still highly depend on this material to boost their sales. A recent study mentioned there is a significant number of Indonesian enterprises that use plastic wrap as their part of main products and ignore the local government policy. Therefore using plastic in companies' products means having competitive advantages in the market. There are two solutions to be offered for the government to overcome the issue. One of them is implementing strict regulations for merchants to use the natural biodegradable wrap in their products and imposing penalties for those who break the rule. This will make the demand for plastic production reduce in considerable numbers. The other step is establishing plastic recycling plants to control the population of plastic waste and redistribute it to the market as new products. Thus, the number of plastic waste will gradually decrease as well as the improvement of the living environment.