THE NUMBER OF PEOPLE WHO ARE AT RISK OF SERIOUS HEALTH PROBLEMS DUE TO BEING OVERWEIGHT IS INCREASING. WHAT IS THE REASON FOR THE GROWTH IN OVERWEIGHT PEOPLE IN SOCIETY? HOW CAN THIS PROBLEM BE SOLVED?

The incidence of serious health issues owing to obesity is increasing in society. There are various reasons for the rise in the overweight population which can be addressed and solved to decrease this incidence. There are many reasons for the increasing obesity, and one of the major cause is, reduction in physical activity. Most of the office jobs offer a sedentary environment with long working hours and people have less time for physical exercise and sports, which leads them to gain weight. Secondly, the food choices have also changed over the years and now most of the people prefer takeaways and fast food over home-cooked or healthy food items, which causes unhealthy weight gain and thus increases the risk of health problems among them. However, this problem can be solved by taking a few health measures. Firstly, spreading awareness regarding the significance of physical activity and the provision of fitness facilities can significantly reduce the number of the overweight population. Secondly, educating people about healthy food choices and the availability of healthy and nutritious meals in the cafeterias and supermarkets can help us lower the risk of obesity and obesity-related diseases. In conclusion, sedentary lifestyle and unhealthy food choices are two of the many reasons which are causing a rise in the overweight population and thus an increase in the health problems, but, this incidence can be decreased by doing some lifestyle modifications.