The increase in food production owns much to fertilizers and machinery, but somebody think that it has a negative impact on human health and community.

Many people would accept that the growth of the food industry leads to the overuse of pesticides and machines. From my perspective, I totally consent to the argument that these things could exert an adverse influence on individuals and society. It is undeniable that extreme use of inorganic fertilizers could pose a serious threat to human health. Firstly, excessive use of chemical fertilizers results in a high proportion of pollutants in food which causes disturbance to different parts of the human body. It is scientifically proved that some hazardous chemicals in food could not be eliminated even when being highly processed. Another point is that these synthetic fertilizers also exacerbate environmental issues. Intensive use of pesticides could remove nutrients from the soil, damaging the soil and therefore cause erosion. Besides, nearby waterways are possibly contaminated by the toxic emissions which eventually degrade the quality of the water supply system. The second point to make is that the community also faces detrimental problems due to the abusive use of the machine. This action emits a great amount of carbon dioxide into the atmosphere which contributes to the depletion of the ozone layer. As a result, increased UV radiation levels at the earth’s surface could damage human health. Furthermore, it can also be seen in most companies that employees are replaced with better machinery which could increase the unemployment rate in society. Along with the obvious loss of income, workers may suffer from severe mental health issues such as depression or anxiety. To recap, due to the aforementioned reasons, I firmly believe that the rise in using fertilizers and machinery in food production could have a grave impact on both individuals and society.