In most cities and towns, the high volumes of road traffic have become a problem. What are the causes and what actions should be taken to solve this problem?

It can be seen that traffic congestion is a widespread phenomenon that causes various issues in many cities and towns today. From my perspective, several reasons can be cited to explain the emergence of this problem and some viable measures will be elaborated in this essay. There are a couple of fundamental factors triggering the rise of road traffic, which stems from the overuse of private vehicles. The first reason is that overpopulation giving rise to the use of private transports. To be more specific, migrants from the hinterland move to urban areas with a view to seek better job opportunities which place a burden on the road system. Furthermore, the lack of investment and funding for public transportation also exacerbates the pressure on the current traffic network. Outdated public transports deter citizens from using it and thus the rise of personal vehicles is inevitable. There are several feasible approaches that are worth being adopted. Firstly, the government should allocate their subsidies to develop the outskirt area of the city in order to attract more workers. In term of doing this, the high population density will decrease which contribute to the reduction of bottlenecks in the inner city. Another solution is imposing more taxes and fees on private vehicles with a view to diminish the volume of vehicles on the road. As a result, the authorities could use this money in improving and widening the mass transit network and therefore encourage more dwellers using this type of transportation. In conclusion, increasing volume of road traffic, which is driven by many societal factors, can be alleviated by taking practical measures mentioned above.