The improvement of my speech

In the past, I did not prefer to speak in any public place, especially with the English language because, personally, I do not think that public speaking is my strongest skill. Speaking with foreigners is not difficult, but talking in public is a totally different situation. However, in this trimester, I have to study EC3 or what we called public speaking which I can not deny, so I have to face my reluctance to do. During the class, I lectured and tried to catch every information that I could because I knew myself that I am a weak speaker. The first speech that my teacher provided for our class is a personal speech, which topic is about your inspirational person. I chose my older sister to speak and practiced in order to help me to know what parts that I missed, but it seems that I might not have practiced adequately. My overall personal speech’s score is only C+ which is not surprising because during that circumstance, I fell short on some problems that I did not notice. I was certainly nervous about my first speech. There are many mistakes that I made. For example, my pronunciation may not be clear enough. I felt fear when I could not remember my script a bit while speaking in the tension condition. Nevertheless, I might be extremely stressed, but in my second speech which is an informative speech, I will aim my best to develop my score. This informative speech, I have time to prepare my script and also my partner to support others. I was able to practice every part of my speech and gesture language by studying the strategies of my instructor. To clarify, I practiced until I felt confident to talk with my audience. My partner and I were prepared a lot to make our speech better, which we practiced for 2 days together not including a personal practice. I did several types of research and news to support my main points. We recorded the video more than 8 times to find the least mistakes that we made. The improvements that I made during the presentation was my pronunciation and eye contact. I tried to practice some words that I struggled with their pronunciation more often. Besides, I put my notes down in order to be more confident with my own memory. All in all, at my first public speaking, I felt nervous and struggled with many problems such as pronunciation. Therefore, I gathered my mistakes and improved for my informative speech. I practiced and prepared myself to be ready enough with my second speech. I learned through myself, so this time, I felt less nervous and talked more fluently than my first time. I experienced my biggest fears, and I get out of my comfort zone to overcome it by facing it over and over. I may not be the perfect speaker, but presently, I am certainly better than the old me.