the importance of William Shakespeare

William Shakespeare was born in Stratford-upon-Avon on April 23, 1564 to his parents Mary Arden and John Shakespeare. Shakespeare was the third child of eight. He was the oldest surviving son, because in the time Shakespeare was born there was a plague going around called the Bubonic Plague. This is also known as Black Death because it killed so many people in the middle ages. It supposedly killed about one out of every seven people. Not very much is known about Shakespeare’s early years in life, the only way historians found about his early life were based on church records, and court settlements. It was thought that Shakespeare got his education at a grammar school called King Edward VI School Stratford-upon-Avon. When Shakespeare was eighteen, he married a woman who was eight years older than him, her name was Anne Hathaway. Together they had three children. The first was a girl named Susanna and then two years later they had twins, one boy name Hamnet and a daughter named Judith. Hamnet died at the age of 11 of unknown causes. After the death of Shakespeare’s only son supposedly Shakespeare was never the same. Historians have no clue what happened in Shakespeare’s life between the years of 1585-1592. Historians call this time of his life the “lost years. ” No one is really sure when Shakespeare started writing but they think it was in 1592 when some of his plays were starting to be performed on stage in London. Shakespeare has had a lot of numerous plays and almost all of them were performed in his time. Some of his first works include Richard III and parts of Henry VI. No one really knows when a lot of Shakespeare’s plays were written, but most historians think it was sometime in the early 1590s. Shakespeare has two really famous narrative poems that many people read today, Hamlet and Romeo and Juliet.