Comparison of Maglev with Other Rail travel

Maglev represents new technology: magnetic levitation and linear induction motor(LIM) propulsion. Clearly, to be deployed, a system must be physically and operationally feasible not only under controlled conditions, but also in permanent operation under “real world” conditions. This includes such external factors as public reaction, handling crowded conditions, adverse weather, incidental occurrences of technical defects, short power interruptions, etc. While high-speed maglev infrastructure is relatively expensive to build, maglev trains are less expensive to operate and maintain than traditional high-speed trains or planes. At higher speeds, most of the power needed is used to overcome air drag. Maglev systems can operate at very high speeds almost without deterioration and are therefore more economical to operate than wheel/rail rapid transit systems that require regular intensive maintenance and experience exponentially increasing erosion with increasing speed. The fundamental freedom from mechanical erosion is one of the main advantages of maglev high-speed systems. Maglev is the only track-bound transport system that has practically no mechanical friction during operation. In maglev, all the weight, propulsion and lateral guidance forces of the vehicle are transferred contact-free to the guideway, including the braking forces. As a result, maintenance costs of some maglev systems are only a fraction of the costs of traditional wheel/rail systems. In traditional wheel/rail operations, the wheels eventually wear out. In addition, the resultant grit on the running surface of the tracks causes abrasion of the railheads. Maglev guide paths are bound to be more costly than conventional steel railways. The other main disadvantage is the lack of existing infrastructure. For example, if a highspeed line between two cities is built, then high speed trains can serve both cities but more importantly they can serve other nearby cities by running on normal railways that branch off the highspeed line. The highspeed trains could go for a fast run on the highspeed line, then come off it for the rest of the journey. Maglev trains wouldn’t be able to do that as they would be limited to where maglev lines run. This would mean it would be very difficult to make construction of maglev lines commercially viable unless there were two very large destinations being connected. Of the 5000 km that TGV trains serve in France, only about 1200 km is high speed line, meaning 75% of TGV services run on existing track. The fact that a maglev train will not be able to continue beyond its track may seriously hinder its usefulness.