the importance of learning english

Back to colonial times, the British Empire covered around 25% of the Earth’s surface and made English become the most dominating language throughout the world. English, nowadays, is still widely used as the language of international communication and is being spoken by a fifth of the world’s population. There are several reasons why it is important to learn English, and I will explain those reasons in more detail. First of all, English is the main business language. Presently, many multinational companies require their employees to be fluent in English and make it their official language. In addition, the language is commonly used in many cross-border business meetings, which helps companies from all over the world effectively co-operate with each others. As a result, studying English assures/guarantees the better career prospects. Secondly, travelling is just a piece of cake (=easy) with good knowlegde of English. Visitors/ Tourists can easily ask for help in English wherever they go, since the language is generally used in over 100 countries. Supposing that a Portugese tourist has a vacation in Thailand and finds it’s hard to communicate with the local in Portugese, he or she would find it’s much easier to start a conversation and ask for a favor (=ask for help) in English. Having a good command of/ (being fluent in) English also provides visitors great opportunity to make friends with people coming from different walks of life and to immerse into the local cultures. It’s can be seen/(It’s obvious) that English greatly helps to ease the communication burden and to make travelling much more delightful/ much easier. Lastly, English offers people unlimited access to not only invaluable sources of knowlegde but also a wonderful world of entertainment. Thoroughly, a lot of schools and universities worldwide offer English programs. Also, many scientific papers and research are published in English. Besides, many famous forms of entertainment such as books, movies, and music are produced in or translated into English. With good understanding of English, citizens can easily get access to different cultures. A good example of impacts of English on cultural diffusion is the case of Vietnamese artists. By releasing music videos with English subtitles, the local artists are able to actively spread the Vietnamese heritage values and make a huge number of international fans gain further insights of Vietnamese Culture. Thanks to the mentioned reasons, English obviuosly plays important/crucial role in our everyday life. It is undeniable that our world is an English-speaking world and proficiency in English will surely bring about many benefits for the speakers. Therefore, it’s really vital to learn English.