the importance of foreign languages in primary school

Foreign languages have been a requirement for so many activities such as for a student exchange in school level and job’s postings in graduate level. It is also involved in daily activities such as translating English labels to local languages and many more. Those are several of many examples on why is foreign languages must be taught since the earliest education. Foreign languages are shown to have developed children’s cognitive thinking, since it requires the brain to function more than it should than when we are talking in our local language. The brain needs to process the information in foreign languages into our local language which is twice the work than the usual conversation. This activity will give the children brain exercise for more activities to come so it is very beneficial for the children. Another benefit that children might earn when learning foreign languages is that it may trigger them to explore more about the identity of the foreign languages itself. They may have the willingness to learn independently and asking questions which a good sign. Although the advantages are very clear, there are a few disadvantages too. Children with an outstanding ability to understand foreign languages since early ages might become arrogant among their peers. Not many children have the same ability and this will trigger a low self esteem between them. Regardless of the disadvantages, I strongly believe there are more to the advantages than the disadvantages. The earliest they may learn, then the easier they polish it through time.