The best things in life are free

There are various expressions as well as opinions in the world related to happiness and money. While idealists often assert that the best things in life, like happiness and health, are free, those who take a more realistic stance disagree. This essay will take a more realistic look at this argument and contend that the best parts of life often come at a cost. It is generally agreed that health is our most important asset; however, while health itself can be considered free, this is not always the case with maintaining good health. To keep in good shape, we often have to pay; for example, for gym memberships or wellness courses for meditation or yoga. We have to eat healthy food which usually costs more than processed or junk food. To reduce stress, people normally have to take holidays and these too cost money. Thus, one of the best things in life - good health – doesn’t come for free. Some would also argue that happiness is the most important value in life, although, contrary to popular belief, this too comes at a cost. It is commonly said that experiences (as opposed to materials "things") make us happy. While this may be true, experiences often come at a cost. Consider a relaxing holiday away, or learning to become a pilot - these are experiences which would arguably make someone happier if they were to pursue them, yet they cost money. Thus, happiness is not always free and the experiences which make us happy are not either. A final point regarding putting a price on happiness is an economic one. If the points in the previous paragraph are taken as true, then looking after our health and pursuing experiences that make us happy can be seen as opportunity costs. This means that whenever we are pursuing these experiences or going to the gym or on a meditation retreat, we are not working and, thus, losing money which we would otherwise have been earning. Because higher earnings on a large scale, in the form of GDP, are one measure of wellbeing, or happiness, one could argue that not earning money (i. e. being on holiday) at a given time can actually decrease our happiness, broadly speaking! To conclude, one can clearly see from the arguments presented above that the best things in life, such as health and happiness, are not always free. That said, it does not mean that free things such as jogging or relationships cannot make us happier or healthier. Perhaps a more realistic perspective on the costs (or lack thereof) of the best aspects of life is what is needed.