the impact of the Covid-19 on the hospitality and tourism industry VAN

I. BACKGROUND Since the corona virus was discovered in Wuhan, China, it has spread around the world with the fast speed due to misinformation surrounding its pathogenic mechanism. Furthermore, the virus's unpredictable variation strains have turned the outbreak into a global pandemic. In this situation, many governments of those countries have faced a dilemma, as a consequence, it is not only damage to human health, but also severe economic impacts in the countries, causing tens billions of dollars in damage to many sectors, with the hospitality and tourism industry being the most affected. II. INTRODUCTION Hospitality and tourism is one of the world's largest and fastest-growing economic activity, affecting nearly every country. This industry has been instrumental in economic and social development worldwide over the past decades, with benefits such as opening up countries for trade, business, capital investment and job creation. In fact, in the 21st century, the hospitality and tourism sector has been playing a crucial role as an engine for job creation the culture promotion as well as the local economic development, until the world met an unprecedented crisis or pandemic which is called COVID-19. Coronavirus has expanded to most countries around the world after its initial discovery. The World Health Organization (WHO) and the governments of the affected areas have made every effort to decrease the number of virus infections. S Some measures, such as isolation and travel bans, have been effective in controlling human-to-human transmission, however, they have had substantial impact on the tourism industry. It can be seen clearly the increasing number of hotels shut or operating at severely reduced capacity and with customers in lockdown, so we look at the step’s businesses can help businesses survive, and put themselves in the best position for reopening. This study sought to analyze the impact of COVID-19 on the hospitality and tourism industry, and recommend the innovative recovery strategies to develop after the pandemic.