the impact of fast food on people's health

The growth of the fast food industry is causing problems on the eating habits and the health of many societies across the world. This problem is due to the high levels of fat and sugar contained in these types of food. With the rise of people with many diseases related to this, it is causing a strain on our hospitals to treat these medical conditions. So, what can be done to reduce this disturbing trend? There is a suggestion to introduce higher taxes on these types of food. This seems like a sensible solution as countries such as the USA, Australia and Britain spend a large part of their healthcare budgets on people with diet-related problems. Therefore, these taxes could help to fund their healthcare systems. However, we must look at the groups consuming fast food as the primary source of their diet. Currently, lower-income groups are eating more of this food than wealthier ones. The main reason for that is fast food is far cheaper than fresh produce, due to governments offering significant subsidies to farmers to provide products used in fast food, such as corn, wheat and beef. Also, research shows that many families would not be able to afford healthier food or pay higher taxes on fast food. For them, fast food is not a choice, but a necessity. In conclusion, putting a higher tax on fast food does not seem to be the answer. If governments chose to do this, it would only lead to many families faced with further hardship.