The impact of digital transformation on the buying behavior of tourists – a study conducted on Swiss inbound tourists to Sri Lanka

Digitalization is the incorporation of digital technologies and data to change business operations (Bloomberg, 2018). In tourism, digitalization provides an opportunity to increase the market reach and improve the efficiency of operations. At a collective level, the digital transformation of the tourism industry aids to develop and modify products, improve communication between the stakeholders and access to real-time data to monitor the performance. Despite the challenges the tourism sector faced in 2019, Sri Lanka has reached the revised target of tourists’ arrival for 2019 of approximately 1. 9 Mn as of 31st December 2019 (Lanka Business Online, 2020). As stated by Secretary of the World Tourism Organization (UNWTO), the latest developments in technology are crucial for the tourism industry, not merely in terms of interchange of data and know-how but also in terms of web/mobile application development and methods to integrate sustainability in the industry (Unwto. org, 2017). The usage of digital devices has increased considerably over the last decade. As a result, everyone has access to information at the fingertips. Nowadays, travelers depend greatly on mobile applications and digital platforms when planning their holidays and making reservations due to convenience (Hertzfeld, 2018). As a result, the industry is required to accept and adapt to these changes in technology in order to increase sales growth. The leisure industry is a fragmented industry without a major player, and a large fraction of the service providers consists of SMEs. Sectors within the industry such as transportation, lodging, food and beverage, entertainment and service providers are faced with various advantages and limitations with regard to digitalization. Intellectual ability and competencies of the personnel, access to funding and other assets, the levels of adaptability to technology and responsiveness vary among businesses.