The impact of COVID-19 on Mexican society and economy

This essay will discuss the impact of the COVID-19 pandemic virus on Mexican society and the economy. Since the beginning of the global pandemic, Mexican society has been living in fear, and economic activity in the country has slowed significantly as a result of the decision to suspend all activities considered non-essential. As mentioned above, Mexican society lives in fear, fear of becoming infected and not being able to survive this deadly virus, fear of losing a loved one or even several at the same time, they are also under great stress that drives them to do things they have never done before, due to the confinement and isolation. The fact that they can only live with a few people, or in some cases with no one, plunges them into depression and anxiety, few people are able to understand the situation and respect the sanitary measures. On the other hand, with respect to the economy, the strongest impacts were: the largest reduction in GDP of 8. The layoffs caused by the crisis also meant that Mexicans sacrificed their savings in order to have a dignified retirement; the participation of women in the labor field went backwards after the arrival of the coronavirus and the country's crisis; and this is just to mention a few, since this pandemic really affected Mexico as well as the rest of the world. In conclusion, the coronavirus had a great negative impact on both society and the economy and many Mexicans were extremely affected in both factors. It is hoped that at the end of this pandemic many people will be able to find a better opportunity to move forward, however the loss of many lives is something that will always affect us as a society.