The imbalance between the wealthy and the penniless is now wider than it has ever been before. This essay can discuss the main reasons of this difference and what can be done to reduce the gap.

The imbalance between the wealthy and the penniless is now wider than it has ever been before. This essay can discuss the main reasons for this difference and what can be done to reduce the gap. On one hand, there are many reasons leading to the vast differences between the rich and poor. A report from the BBC news state that in its 34 member states, the richest 10% of the population earn 9. 6 times the income of the poorest 10%. To begin with, the main driver behind rising income gaps has been greater inequality in wages and salaries, as the highly skilled have benefited more from technological progress than the low-skilled. Also, this is partly because there is a wider gap in education in the most unequal countries, which leads to a less effective workforce. Another reason that separates the wealthy from the poor is how they use their money, the wealthy do not spend it all, and they have self-control while the poor live paycheck to paycheck never thinking about tomorrow. For instance, take a look at what poor people suddenly become wealthy like EG Lottery Winners. The 70% of lottery winners end up flat broke in three to five years, they often never say no to people asking for money, they don’t budget, they don’t invest their money wisely, they stop working, they buy things that are beyond their means and more. In my opinion, there are a few things that can be done to reduce this huge difference. The government can increase the minimum wage such as higher wages for the lowest-paid workers. Additionally, increasing the minimum wage does not hurt employment. Another recommendation is to invest in education. Differences in early education and school quality are the most important components contributing to persistent inequality across generations. Investments in education, beginning in early childhood can increase economic mobility, contribute to increased productivity and decrease inequality. For example, researchers have proved that real income levels of the poorest 20 percent of Americans have actually risen over time. To sum up, there are many reasons leading up to the large difference between the wealthy and the poor, although there are many ways to fix this problem. Given this important situation, I think that people should start fixing and adding new rules to help reduce the difference between the two.