The growth of online shopping will one day lead to all shops in towns and cities closing.

Internet is one of the breakthrough innovations in the history of mankind which has facilitated lots of things, online shopping being the one. There are two schools of thought for the same. One of them argues, this will one day lead to all shops being closed while the other says it will increase the number of shops. Personally, I believe that it is creating a bigger market for shopkeepers rather than destroying it. First of all, anything being sold digitally or offline is by a physical person or entity. Only different thing is, a person doesn't need to buy land and set up an infrastructure to start selling online. If there is value in the product that someone has, people across the world will buy it. Hence, this has increased the scope of who can be a shopkeeper. Secondly, there are some things that people would prefer to purchase only from physical stores like jewellery. Additionally, if you need something urgently, you would have to visit a nearby shop to get that. Also, there is a sense of mutual trust between a shopkeeper and a customer which can't be achieved while shopping digitally. Hence, there would always be a need for tangible markets where people can go and get items as they please. In my opinion, online shopping has just opened up the market where shopkeepers can sell worldwide and customers can buy anything they want from anywhere they want. Hence, I would say it is a boon for everyone rather than being a bane and we should really encourage digital markets in the coming future. As it is pretty evident from above, I disagree with the statement that the growth of online shopping will one day lead to all shops in towns and cities closing.