The growth in the popularity of online shopping has been responsible for numerous critical changes in human impacts on the environment as well as the dynamics in occupational structure around the globe. wxalr

The growth in the popularity of online shopping has been responsible for numerous critical changes in human impacts on the environment as well as the dynamics in occupational structure around the globe. Specifically on its impact, this trend can exert an adverse effect on mother nature and alter the job market greatly, with detailed explanation presented in the following. The dire consequence of online shopping on the environment lies in its tendency to over-package products. Compared to conventional shopping, this modern form of shopping normally uses more materials in packaging to ensure the quality of the ordered products during the transportation from manufacturers to consumers, preventing any potential damage to the merchandise that would harm the seller’s reputation. This excessive packaging, although highly secures the delivery of products, is one of the main culprits behind the accumulation of plastics in landfills as hardly ever are the plastics and paper used in wrapping products reused or recycled. Such one-time use of materials, especially of the non-biodegradable ones like plastics, quickly builds up landfill sites and further aggravates the existing environmental problems with garbage. Alternatively, one of the influences that this phenomenon could have on the future job market is advancing the shift in preferences to technology jobs. As online shopping is getting increasingly prevalent, the demand for IT jobs, which is crucial to the development of this form of shopping, becomes steeper. For example, Amazon reportedly had created thousands of career opportunities for developers who have improved the user interface design of the website and the algorithm that operates it. Developers are now highly sought by not only major companies specializing in e-commerce but also conventional stores that start to implement online shopping. This ubiquitous use and transition to online shopping motivates the employment market to redistribute its current structure and place more emphasis on technology-related jobs to satisfy the ongoing hunt for talents. In conclusion, online shopping can have detrimental effects on the environment due to its excessive packaging and occupational distribution towards technology careers could emerge as e-commerce becomes universal.