The growing number of overweight people is putting a strain on the health care system in an effort to deal with the health issues involved. Some people think that the best way to deal with this problem is to introduce more physical education lessons in the curriculum.

As the number of overweight people rises in this generation, several comorbidities and diseases also increase along the way. One reason for this is the lack of exercise and movement due to the advancement of technology. This is much more evident during this time of pandemic. With that being said, I definitely agree with adding more courses or programs involving physical education because preventing ourselves from getting sick is always better than finding ways to cure ourselves in the future. Firstly, our country has been experiencing a year-long lockdown. Students have started their online and modular lessons inside their homes. This has become serious problem on work-life balance. During the start of quarantine, there has been a surge in mental health issues, such as having difficulty sleeping and feeling anxious most of the time. Some people just lie down all day for they lack motivation to move. Others, on the other hand, fail to get the enough hours of sleep due to work overload. Because of these hormonal imbalances, such stressors can contribute on why a person gains weight. One way to resolve this issue is to advocate the importance of physical education and its correlation to our mental health. In this way, people, especially students, might understand its significance to our lives.