in some countries, owning a home rather than renting one is very important for people. Why might this be the case?

People in some countries consider owning a home much more important than renting one. Living in a self-owned home gives a feeling of stability, comfort and security. To my mind there are a lot of factors which can impact nation’s choice. To begin with, people owning a home do not have to worry about paying rent and about their landlord. Hence, they can modify their home according to their needs and feel secure in it. It is undeniable that home is the most important place for every person, so they spend quite a fortune on designing and decorating it to mace it comfortable. Some people, on the other hand, consider their home as an investment which can bring them a lot of income. Following this, I feel that whether owning a home is a positive or negative situation is quite subjective, depending on the individuals’ budget. For people who have the money to buy a big house and few financial liabilities, their house is not a burden and owning one is a positive situation for them. However, most of the middle-class families buy a big house which they can’t afford. They fund this by taking out huge loans and subsequently repay the amount over a very long time. In addition to this, they must pay property taxes and insurance which are directly proportional to the area of a home. Furthermore, the electricity and maintenance costs get added to their everyday expenses. To conclude, I feel that owning a home can be a pleasurable experience only after ensuring that citizen has enough money to do it. However, it could turn into a negative situation when a person buys a home by getting a loan which is beyond his repaying capacity.