The greatness of a person is often contributed to the impact he has on the society whether it be scientific, artistic, political or any relevant fields

The greatness of a person is often contributed to the impact he has on the society whether it be scientific, artistic, political or any relevant fields. The above prompt " " is quite a thought provoking one. I generally agree that the contemporaries are often unable to appreciate the importance of work laid down by people and it often takes generations for the people to comprehend the impact of some situation because of the following reasons It takes significant amount of time to realize the impact of work of a person, in fact it takes longer amount of time for the public to comprehend and understand its importance. A plethora of theories are often postulated by scientists every year. These will usually be comprehensible to the contemporary scientists. The public understands its importance or popularity based on the practicality and significance it has on their life. The concept behind lasers is quite abstruse, but is quite appreciated because of its abundance in common life of people. A lot of theories usually have very limited means of being proven experimentally. Einstein is known popularly for his theory of relativity, though he won Nobel for the phenomenon of photoelectric effect. Scientific community were confounded with his theory and it took more than decades to experimentally verify it. As a result, a lot of research has branched out of this theory such as black holes, worm holes. Society played an integral role in acceptance of the theories. Couple of centuries back, people were quite reluctant to disprove the theories accepted by common man in fear of getting outcasted by the society. One such popular belief held by people was that the earth was center of universe and all the planets revolved around it. Copernicus, through his discoveries postulated that sun is the centre of universe and other planets revolved around it. Due to fear of getting ostracised by the society, he did not publish it and was written in his secret journal which was a not published until his death. It was much later, when Galileo invented telescope and experimentally proved this theory. Copernicus never gained the recognition which he deserved during his time. Advancement of technology also plays a significant role in popularising the findings. Lot of theories postulated often could not be scientifically proved because of limitation in technology. Black hole was first postulated nearly half a century ago by Einstein. The first picture of a black hole was captured by the scientific community in 2021 using sophisticated computing systems. Similarly media played a significant role also. Anne Frank who died in the tragic holocaust became famous posthumously for her diary. It was through books and media that she became known to the public. Admittedly, there are lot of fields in which the fame is instantaneous. Sports is such a field, where an olympic medal could make you an overnight success and will become immortalised among the society. In conclusion, though majority of the people get recognition post their prime time in their respective fields, there are areas where your contribution often makes you an overnight success