International sports events like the Olympic Games are organized annually. Do the advantages outweigh the disadvantages?

People hold differing views about holding international sport events. While some opine that these sports festivals exert detrimental impacts and should be abolished, I hold the strong conviction that they bear more positive features and are therefore necessarily preserved. On the one hand, there are several reasons why some protest organizing world sports events. Firstly, exorbitant costs are anticipated, involving the expenses of building sports facilities to satisfy the international criteria, and the costs of adorning the host country. Despite the fact that this expenditure has certain benefits, some are led to believe that they waste the national coffers, leading to the government’s debt and tax hikes, or the reduction of the national spending on other priorities. Part of the public, especially the poor whose life is still in misery, would feel resented when their government spends too much of tax revenues on boosting sports events while too little on enhancing their living standards. Finally, it is claimed that holding international sports affairs has negative impacts on the environment as this practice will by all means attract more people to the host country, triggering more use of fossil fuels for transport purposes and the disposal of more sewage. On the other hand, I hold the conviction that we still need to maintain such big events because of their great benefits. As aforementioned, tourism can be bolstered as sports festivals are organized. Tourism in my belief, brings more advantages than disadvantages, creating more job opportunities for the local community, increasing the tax revenues, promoting related industries and boosting economic developments. Furthermore, sports festivals are also decent opportunities for countries from all over the world to peacefully compete with each other, facilitating cultural interactions, easing deep-rooted hostility and promoting international peace. Although some data have shown that the colossal amount of money spent on the organization of transnational sports events has been alarming, I strongly think that whether it is detrimental or not rests mainly on how the host country uses international aid and seizes censorship over its expenditure. In conclusion, irrespective of many people’s protests against international sport festivals, I am yet convinced that the celebrations of such physical exertions are truly essential and should still be well-maintained.