Prevention is better than cure. Out of a country’s health budget, a large proportion should be diverted from treatment to spending on health education and prevention measures. with this statement?

Many healthcare specialists advise people to exercise caution and be more aware of their health aspects. It is also suggested that a major share of the health budget should be diverted towards health education and preventative steps. I completely agree with this viewpoint. Firstly, I feel that channeling healthcare budget extensively towards pre-emptive health measures will reduce overall medical costs. It will also indirectly contribute to the country’s economic growth. The spending on medicines, lab tests, doctor’s fees, and surgeries is huge. In fact, it surges exponentially if the disease goes undetected and worsens at a later stage. Much of the clinical expenditure can be easily obviated if more money is spent on preventative steps. This can enable every individual to be educated about health. More health campaigns can encourage people to take simple steps of hygiene such as avoiding contaminated needles and refraining from unwanted physical contacts. Due to this, many dreadful diseases such as AIDS, Hepatitis, and Tuberculosis can be prevented. This, in turn, can save exorbitant expenses at a later stage. Secondly, incentivizing health programs can motivate people to support the government in eradicating preventable diseases. For example, a street play or a free seminar can be arranged to enlighten the public about the ill effects of smoking, chewing tobacco, alcoholism, and ignoring health check-ups. Lastly, the precautionary approach towards health will ultimately lead to a better quality of life. Healthy citizens will engender more happiness and wealth in the nation. In a developing country, many patients will be relieved of the extravagant medical costs and their productivity will increase. In conclusion, I feel both the individual and the country can save huge amounts of money by diverting a major chunk of the health budget towards measures to prevent diseases. It can also provide additional perks to health professionals. Overall, it will raise the bar in terms of adopting a healthy and prosperous living.