The government’s investments in arts, music and theatre are a waste of money. Government should invest these funds in public services instead.

The state of public services has deteriorated in recent times in many parts of the world. This leads to a general belief that government should invest more in satisfying necessities of people instead of spending money on arts, music and theatre. This essay will argue why governments should continue to invest in arts, music and theatre though investments in public welfare is important. Maintaining and growing public infrastructure is very important for development of people and in turn development of every nation. Governments should make sure that necessities of the population are satisfied by not only maintaining but also growing the existing infrastructure. In many countries, especially the developing nations governments have failed to keep up the state of public services. With growing population the situation has even worsened where public infrastructure is just not enough to even meet the basic needs of the citizens. For example, in few of the cities in India the state basic necessities like public transport, water etc. has reached alarming levels and there’s growing dissatisfaction among the people against the governments. This leads people to believe that government is not making enough investments and is not giving enough importance towards improvement of public services. Though people are right in expecting that governments should focus more on improving public services, it’s completely inappropriate to suggest that development of public infrastructure should be done at the cost of maintaining and growing cultural heritage like arts, music and theatre. All of these are not just modes of entertainment but they also preserve cultural values. Since last few years, they are also looked upon as career opportunities as this sector has started generating jobs. For example, in a developing country like India where job creation is a challenge, entertainment industry has proved to be one of the major contributors to the nations GDP. As a result, government should not only continue to invest in arts, music and theatre but also look at avenues to grow this sector. It is completely inappropriate to suggest that investments from this sector should be diverted to the growth of public services. Instead people should hold elected representatives of the government responsible for the state of public services and look at options to make them answerable. This essay argued that it will be completely wrong to overlook investments in arts, music and theatre to develop public services. In my opinion, governments should balance developments of all the sectors including public services by ensuring proper allocation of funds and focussed goal based development of every sector including public services.