A growing numbers of cities are making their centres pedestrian only zones What are the advantages and disadvantages

With rapid urbanization, most of the major cities are becoming extremely crowded, which has led to them moving towards allowing only foot traffic in their downtown areas. This essay will analyze the advantages and disadvantages of this trend. Following this look, a reasoned opinion will be offered. Firstly, the increasing population density has a direct impact on the air and noise pollution levels making them reach detrimental levels within the city, and allowing only pedestrians can be an effective way to curb those dangerous levels as most of the air and noise pollution is caused by automobiles. Take the example of large metros like Hyderabad for one, where restricting vehicular traffic in the downtown area of old city has decreased the air pollution levels by an astronomical margin of 45% and noise pollution by 30%. In addition, since the centers of these large cities are so crowded, they are prone to road accidents as people walk very close to roads. If automobiles are banned, then it will not only reduce accidents in these region but also provide more space for people to walk freely. Thus, not allowing automobiles in the downtown region has certain undeniable benefits. However, despite these benefits, there are also some drawbacks of this practice like this makes commuting to these areas, where a lot of offices are situated, very difficult and strenuous as people have to walk long distances to reach in and out of these regions. For instance, in the downtown area of Chicago, which is a center of trade and a hub of software companies, the banning of automobiles has caused a lot of controversy as people on an average had to spend almost 1 extra hour than their usual commute time after this ban was imposed, which resulted in a lot of companies transferring their offices to some other regions. From this, it becomes quite evident why this can also have some disadvantages. To sum up, allowing only pedestrians within the city is not only good for the environment but also safer to the people in those regions, but, on the other hand, it may cause commuting difficulties in some regions. The advantages revealed in the above essay resonate most with my city Hyderabad, and I thus want this practice to continue here. Finally, cities should carefully weighin their options before making a decision.