The government's investment in arts, music and theatre is a waste of money. Governments should invest these funds in public services instead.

Many people believe that government’s investment of funds on recreational activities like arts, music and theatres is a wastage and should be instead redirected on improving public services. While I support this opinion partially, I believe in engaging most funds towards public services and investing small portions on these recreational activities. On one side, recreational activity like arts, music and theaters are important to be promoted in a country. Investments in these sectors will help in preserving a country’s culture and tradition. Additionally, such investments will encourage nation’s young talent and help them pursue them as their careers. For instance, a recent survey from Berkley university’s musical department indicates that there is 10 percent increase in children’s interest towards music after California’s mayor initiated musical campaigns in various parts of the country. As such steps show us a positive result, I encourage governments to invest small portions of its funds towards such recreational activities for encouraging cultural interest in children. On the other hand, it is utmost responsibility of government to instill public services and improve them for the sake of its citizen’s health and safety. With ever increasing diseases around the world, governments should consider increasing priority in investing enormous amounts on scientific research and in providing emergency hospital services. Such early funding in these public services will keep a county ready to fight against deadly pandemics like SARS COVID-19. Additionally, providing safer roads for transportation has become essential in current fast-paced world. For example, in India, 30 percent of deaths are alone caused by road accidents due to their poor condition and maintenance. Considering such losses, it is government’s responsibility to put public services in first place while allocating annual budgets for its citizen’s welfare. To conclude on my opinion, though arts and music help in promoting a nation’s culture and encourage talent, a higher priority should be given to improving public services and be allocated with higher percentage of funds compared to the former.