Some people say that advertising encourages us to buy things that we really do not need. Others say that advertisements tell us about new products that may improve our lives. Which viewpoint do you agree with?

Advertisements play a vital role in our everyday life. Brands use advertisements primarily for the launch of a new product but it is not limited to just for the first look, Companies can also use this to sell off their stock on the shelf. Big Enterprises are very eager to launch their product to the world and their initial goal is to reach almost everyone and that is not possible without using the power of advertisement but the concern arises with the basic purpose of using it. The reason for using this powerful tool could be to make everyone aware about their new service or product so that everyone could benefit from it. projecting new devices, technology or services could be seen as enhancement to the persons life. for instance, the new digital watch that acquires with health related data and could help the user enhance their health is a great deal but someone could miss it just because of the lack of awareness but on the other hand this could be used to amplify consumerism, could force the person into the habit of buying and evetually engaging them into spending more money. Strong evidences relates consumerism with the effective use of "priming" that is used in advertisements. priming is basically repeated use of pictures, words, or text to make a product rememberable. In my opinion, Viewing this situation in just black or white is to eliminate other aspects of its effects. I think Advertisement could be used to target specific audience and should not be shown repeatedly to everyone, this is a waste of resources as well as problem to people.