Nowadays, many schools find it profitable to sell unhealthy food and sugary drinks to students during lunch breaks. Is this a positive or negative development?

It has been becoming quite common when schools are opting out to sell some sort of beverages and junk food, which are proven to be detrimental to health. Now the question arises that whether this should be considered to be favorable or unfavorable. As far as I am concerned, it would not be wrong to say that in long term, this is certainly not in the best interests of society. First and foremost, the most obvious cause behind this being called a vice is because it is not advantageous for the health of children. Needless to say, the world is suffering from obesity. According to a survey, more than fifty percent of adolescents are gaining weight due to their wrong eating habits. Therefore, it is quite clear that, unfortunately, this practice of schools to earn money, is giving a rise to this grave situation. Secondly, teenage students, unbeknown to the fact that this is ultimately doing their harm, tend to become addicted to it. As a consequence, this habit of eating oily and heavy food stays with them forever. It is generally believed that teenagers are the future of every nation. Regrettably, youngsters'’ recklessness towards their health could be a big obstruction in every country’s future development. Thirdly, the only objective of the manufacturers of this kind of food is to fly their plane of sales and become lucrative, no matter if it is beneficial for the society or not. Schools, by choosing to sell such type of food, are doing nothing, but just helping these big tycoons to become more and more profitable. In conclusion, it is unequivocally true that if educational institutions will keep on serving such kind of edibles, which are not innocuous at all, this might not only put strain on pupils’ health, but will also affect every country’s future. What is more, the big producers are getting boosted and heading towards profitability by adopting a method which is not right for consumers.