The governments are raising a higher tax on fast food in many countries. Why is this the case? Does this way lead to positive or negative effects on their countries? Give reasons for your answer and include any relevant examples from your own knowleldge or experience

In several nations, fast food is being taxed more heavily due to the possibility that people are consuming too much of this kind of unhealthy food. However, I suppose that this approach cannot benefit these countries as well as their people. There are possible reasons why the governments decide to impose a higher tax on fast food. Even though not all fast food is harmful, most fast food is still quite unhealthy. This is because fast food ingredients are mostly artificial, high in sugar and fat and are not meant to be eaten on a regular basis. As a fact, consuming these ingredients regularly can lead to health issues including heart disease, diabetes, and cancers and even reduced life expectancy. In addition to the unhealthy food choice, the detrimental effects of fast food on the environment is also the cause of the higher tax. The production and selling of junk food has a significant negative impact on the environment. Excess packaging, excess processing of food, not to mention the chemical waste that occurs, not only from the preservatives for the fast food but also from the factory farms that house the millions of chickens and cows used in fast food production. Although increasing the tax on fast food may result in the reduction of this food, I do not believe that this method is not an ideal solution for countries and it can cause counterpurpose. People tend to opt for fast food due to its affordable prices, which is unlike healthy food, such as organic food, which usually has a higher price. Thus, when the fast food restaurants are charged with a heavier tax, they will raise the price of their products. As a result, those who have a modest income cannot purchase fast food, and will eventually have a harder life. In some countries, the fast food industry has a significant role in the national economy, so if they are imposed a high tax, their business may face difficulties. In conclusion, increasing the tax on fast food cannot limit the consumption of fast food completely so I suggest that the government should focus on advertising the healthy lifestyle to the citizens and forcing manufacturers to use healthier ingredients as well as procedure rather than simply charging a higher tax on fast food.