the government should focus on economic growth or other goals

Whether one government should focus on boosting the economic growth or pay equal attention to other goals including social welfare is a hotly debated topic. I personally believe that economic progress should not be the only objective for any government. It is understandable that economic target is a must for many countries. A healthier economy is usually corresponding with a stronger position in the international arena. A salient example of this is how the USA plays an important role in any global organizations including United Nation or World Trade Organization. This enables the America to have the greatest impact on any decisions concerning socio-economic situations of other countries all over the world. In addition to this, a booming economy always brings more jobs and investment opportunities which result in better living condition and higher quality of public services. Compared to developed countries, people in developing world these days frequently suffer from the lack of water supply or even food, let alone medical treatment or proper education. Nonetheless, a sole concentration on economic prosperity cannot create long lasting peace or social well-being on the large scale. There are numerous factors that are equally vital for one country such as education, medical care and other forms of public services. Imagine chaos would be ensured if one country failed to provide its citizens with enough medical facilities or public transportation. Also, we should consider other areas of human rights, social justice and democracy itself. For instance, increasing outrages and protests for months against a new proposition in Hong Kong has caused severe effect on the economy of the Asia’s financial hub. Enterprises have had to shut down their business, or retail centers have not opened for months, which played the most crucial part in Hong Kong’s economic downturn last year. It cannot be denied that advantages associated with economic growth are enormous. However, it is my personal belief that there are a lot more types of progress one government should keep an eye on.