The government seems to divert a lot of wealth and similar resources toward space exploration. Some believe this is vital for the continued survival of human beings while others assert that we could put our given resources to better uses. What is your opinion?

The discussion of space exploration is surely one that begs the question of exactly how its need can be justified. Some people believe that it should not continue as a practice because of economic reasons. Nonetheless, in my opinion, it is completely justified since such ventures generate potential opportunities. In the modern society, the benefits of resource discovery are clearly visible. One clear reason comes from the fact that the current fossil reserves are finite and being exhausted drastically. A similar point relates to how many feel that asteroids or other planets will have materials that will be our answer when resources, such as oil, run out on planet Earth. For example, most oil reserves are expected to dry out by the next decade with no upcoming oil discoveries. Therefore, if analyzed properly, there is no argument to the fact that with space left as the only untapped resource, it could yield plausible solutions. Furthermore, it is argued that a ‘backup planet’ may have some great future promises as well. The argument stems from the fact that the recent raging wildfires and natural disasters have exposed the vulnerability of our blue planet. One similar reason is apparent in the case when moving becomes inevitable. For example, assuming we can miraculously control all natural disasters and climate change, it is predicted that, the solar rays will gradually expand, leading to a complete meltdown of our planet. Based on these reasons, it is not a far-fetched conclusion to say that an alternative planet needs to be colonized for a future large-scale migration. To conclude, space travel can be controversial. The claims against it are conspicuous because of the monetary effects. Nevertheless, I stand firm by my opinion that researching space will benefit us at large due to the possibilities of an eventual interplanetary travel and to provide a boost to earth’s depleting resources