The government prescribes six years of study for elementary education. Some private schools require seven years saying this gives the students more training and the competitive edge.

It is every person’s right to have access to a good education. Elementary shapes every child before stepping into high school. Six years for elementary is what the government recommends, but some private institutions advise an extra year is needed to have a little more experience and preparedness. Most countries, including the Philippines, follow the six-year system. It has served well for the past years and is still practiced today. Some might think this is outdated but if the past years have proven anything, it is that students are doing just fine without an extra year. Additionally, making changes to the education system could drastically affect these children’s lives. High school seems scary and unfamiliar but nothing can ever prepare a child unless they go through it. Once they are inside their high school classrooms, the years they spent in elementary are insignificant. Edge and training are something they can learn within the six years. In my experience, I graduated elementary after 6 years. I definitely was nervous and unsure once I started high school, but I eventually adapted and excelled in the end. An additional year can benefit students to brace themselves for high school. Stepping into high school is horrifying. Additionally, an extra year means another year of tuition and school supplies to pay. This can be exhausting for parents who can barely pay for one school year’s tuition. Having the funds to pay for an extra year is not a privilege every family has. To illustrate, when the senior high school was added to the Philippine education system, it has, and continues to aggravate a lot of parents. Five years after its implementation, there is still ongoing debate on its significance in the real world. In conclusion, both choices have their pros and cons. Six years is the norm globally. Since this is widely accepted, making changes now is unnecessary. While the seventh year can help unprepared students, it also comes with more bills to pay. I believe the most important factor to consider is the student’s welfare. 7-year elementary should only be applied to students who really need and want it and not just be made mandatory for students who probably would not need it.