The government must implement tax on junk food to improve the overall health of citizens. Do you think this action reduces the consumption of junk food?

Nowadays, an increased consumption of ready to eat food consequences in a large number of health problems. It has been suggested to impose tax on fast food in order to offer a healthy life style to citizens. However, the question is whether the implementation of tax is an effective way to put an end to this situation or not. To begin with, taxing junk food will only deter the lower and middle income people, as it will discourage them to opt for fast food rather than cooking organic at home. However, most of the families belong to mentioned income class are working people and as matter of fact, with shortage of time, junk food are more appealing to them. Therefore, compromising on nutrients over the availability of ready to eat food is the only choice they are left with. Furthermore, affluent are less likely to be affected with tax imposition. Furthermore, besides taxing the junk food, it is rather more effective to educate people and create awareness regarding ill-effects of consuming fast food. To illustrate, Singapore one of the most developed countries of the world, majority of its people are compelled to buy meals rather cooking at home because of their busy life styles. Although they are solely educated with the health problems caused by this. However, the most effective way to stop this trend is to make healthy food more accessible and affordable. People take up junk food option as it gets ready in a matter of few minutes rather than buying, sorting, washing, cutting and eating home cooked food. To conclude, imposing tax on junk food will only prohibit lower and middle income people without affecting elites eating habits. However creating awareness and encouraging healthy life style by making healthy eating options more convenient and affordable is the only solution to prosperous life.