Purpose for Enrolling in a Masters Degree in Nonprofit Management

Helping other people without expecting something in return was something I saw as a child being modeled at home and in the local church where my family attended. During my teenage years, I already started doing volunteer work by teaching summer classes to elementary students. When I reached college, I would help organize and facilitate summer and Christmas camps. I finished a degree in Nursing and even acquired a license to practice the profession, however for some reasons, I did not want to do bedside care that is why I never really attempted to work in a hospital setting. I landed in a research institute where I got my first job. Even during my first few months in the organization, I felt that was the right path for me. I became so passionate about my work knowing that I can help the country address the diseases of poverty. I even enrolled in a graduate degree in research because I thought I finally found the path that I have been wanting to go. However, during my fifth year in the organization, I still felt unsatisfied with I have achieved professionally and had this longing for something which I really did not know what it was. I finally came to realize that I wanted to be a part of a non-profit organization and eventually start one when the strongest typhoon hit my hometown last November 2013. I was really inspired by the volunteers and Nonprofit organizations who came to help. That moment was so surreal, it made me realize of the one I have always wanted to do. I eventually resigned from my first job to be with my family and take it as a pause to plan for my next steps. From then on, I have been intentionally looking for ways to prepare me to achieve my goal of eventually starting a Non-profit organization. I joined organizations that does community development work and provides child welfare services and even enrolled a graduate degree on Business Administration as I believe this to be the best education for me to acquire the knowledge and skills that I need to put up an NGO. Last April 2021, I resigned from the NGO where I worked for almost four years to pursue my dream. I started to do volunteer work in our community. I provided early childhood intervention to kids 3-5 years old who are not yet enrolled in the day care centers or preschool. I also provide mentoring activities to young people and provide opportunities for them to maximize their potential. This includes organizing and facilitating workshops, camps, and funfair. I was so passionate because I am able to maximize my skills at the same time help other people. It was such a fulfilling task for me. However, as the months passed and the things I envision for the organization grew bigger and was made clearer to me, it became even more difficult to pursue. I now must consider a lot of factors such as manpower and finances. Asking help from other people specially in finances is really something I find hard to do. I am just thankful of few friends who supports from time to time. I have also been challenged with the lack of manpower, more specifically the lack of people I share the same vision with and those who would really commit to the cause I have been pursuing. I thought that the knowledge I gained from taking Business Administration would be fully put to practice. I slowly came to understand how the corporate world and the nonprofit organizations are too different paths. The goal of corporate organizations is just so opposite to the purpose why non-profit organizations exist. Since the pandemic has limited my movement, the services I can provide and the finances I need to sustain the programs, I want to take this opportunity instead to learn more about managing nonprofit organizations and be more equipped and prepared for the bigger tasks ahead. I never knew there was such a graduate program as managing nonprofit organizations until I saw a post on social media of someone in who just earned her degree. I never really took further research on the background of USF. What made me more interested was the program they offered. When I searched for schools that offer graduate programs and scholarships on nonprofit management, one of the schools that came out of my searches was USF. The fact that they offer such program in the university, I strongly believe that it is their intention to help people passionate in this field realize their potential and be able to make a significant impact in the world through the different services they can provide. Another reason why I chose USF is because of the scholarship opportunities they provide to aspiring students. As a student from a third-world country, being able to finish a degree in a private institution is already financially challenging, much more in acquiring a degree in a foreign country. The opportunity that USF has makes it possible for me to take a step closer to achieving my long-term goal. Taking a graduate study may delay my desire of wanting to start an NGO now, but it is a preparation for me for something bigger ahead of me. I realized that if I want to make a lasting impact in this area I am passionate about, I should not do things haphazardly. I remembered a story I read in the Bible about the 2 men who built houses, the first man built his house upon the sand, the rain came down, and the floods washed it away. The second man built his house upon the rock, when the rain came down, it stood firm. I don’t want to build a shaky foundation. I have been pursuing this dream for quite a long time now and it is but worthy of a foundation that will stand the test of time. Even if it breaks my heart that I cannot start it right away the moment I resigned from my job, in a way it is also a relief for me that making the decision to take up a graduate degree in managing nonprofit organization is already taking several steps towards that goal.