Healthcare industry is improving day by day, and it leads to rise of the life expectancy. In other words, the n

Healthcare industry is improving day by day, and it leads to rise of the life expectancy. In other words, the number of elderly citizens is increasing, and it raises concerns in the society about problems it might cause. In my opinion, if governments apply certain rules, there will be no need to worry. The increased number of older people brings several problems, one of them being overpopulation. It is obvious that if people live longer, the size of the population will continue rising at a never-before-seen speed, and in a few decades, there will not be enough space for everyone on Earth. To my mind, the problem is not about the individuals who are living longer than expected, it is the number of newborn babies that makes the world overpopulated. I think that the governments should introduce restrictions on the amount of children parents can have. This way, population can be kept at a certain level for many years to come. To illustrate, China has one-child policy which kept population's growth rate less than 0. 5%, while this figure is close to 2% in the world. Another issue we might face with more elderly people is that they mostly retire at a certain age, and they do not have any apparent benefit to the society afterwards. Since the imroved healthcare means that people are healthier compared to the previous years, I believe that the governments can increase retirement age and even benefit from the years of knowledge the elderly have gained through their lives. For instance, 20 years ago, Azerbaijan had a retirement age of 61, which was raised to 65 step-by-step. Consequently, our country witnessed economical improvements thanks to this change. To conclude, while aging citizens might introduce a number of issues, government regulations on birth rate and retirement can prevent them.