The global need to promote environmental conservation has influenced the protection of coral reefs. Marine biodiversity is essential in improving aquatic life.

The global need to promote environmental conservation has influenced the protection of coral reefs. Marine biodiversity is essential in improving aquatic life. With no exception, corals play a noble role in safeguarding the marine ecosystem. The ridges also prove to be important in lessening ocean waves' impact, particularly in tropical regions. Economic benefits can also be apparent following the presence of corals. As such, coral reefs are essential in promoting marine biodiversity and economic value. Coral reefs are crucial in a plethora of ways. Foremost, coral reefs provide habitat to the water creatures. Marine species, including fish, can hide from the ridges. However, corals can be a source of food for aquatic animals. Accordingly, the fish species can increase, thus promoting economic value (DeCarlo et al. , 2020). Nevertheless, the reefs are significant in the proliferation of global monetary growth. Tourism activities can also flourish following the protection of the marine ecosystem. Corals are necessary for combating the influence of natural hazards such as tsunamis. They curtail the implications of water waves which can be hazardous in the coastal areas (Hoegh-Guldberg et al. , 2017). Thus, coral reefs contribute significantly to improving the marine ecosystem. In summation, coral reefs are paramount in nurturing aquatic biodiversity. The ridges are natural habitats for water animals, thus protecting them from threats. They also provide food to fish species, thus nurturing economic activities. Tourism activities can also improve due to the presence of the ridges. However, corals curb the influences of water waves in tropical areas. All in all, coral reefs are essential in strengthening marine biodiversity.