The free movement of goods across national borders has long been a controversial issue

Globalization of trade has been a controversial topic for a long time. Although some people believe that it is essential for growth and development, others argue that it has an adverse effect on local industries. In my opinion, the flow of goods across countries is crucial for economic development. On the one hand, globalization is considered as a necessity for the growth of world economy. Firstly, it promotes rapid development of goods with better quality. Different countries excel in the production of different goods and because of globalization they are able to share the finished products with the rest of the world. Secondly, it helps in producing cheaper goods. Market size has changed from local size to international size which helps manufacturers to produce goods in huge quantity and hence at cheaper prices / rates. Additionally, it makes resources available across the planet. For example, countries like Saudi Arabia import all the food products from other countries as their land is unfit to support the vegetation and export crude oil to other countries. On the other hand, people are against international brands because it creates a lot of competition for small brands operating in a limited area. For example, with the arrival of international shoe sellers, local manufacturers are facing trouble in selling their products. Additionally, international brands are much cheaper than local brands. Consequently, local shopkeepers struggle hard to sell their products against their cheaper counterparts. This may also lead to poor economy growth for countries that import much more than they export. In conclusion, while globalization may have a negative impact on local businessmen, it is necessary as it promotes the development of technology and world economy.