The following is a recommendation from the city manager of Bridge Bay. “Last year, the number of visits to our local beach in Bridge Bay was 50 percent lowerthan the year before. Early last year we ended our contract with Arko Trash Collection, acompany xmxwa

The writer of this argument is the city manager of Bridge Bay who is hypothesizing that the beach's decrease in visitors last year is due to the ending of their contract with Arko Trash Collection. The writer states that last year the attendance was 50% lower than the year before when Arko Trash Collection was working as the garbage collectors. It is also stated that nearby beaches that continue to use Arko Trash Collection are experiencing a high number of visitors. The conclusion of the writer's argument is that in order to increase visitors to Bridge Bay, they need to fire the new garbage collectors Satellite Waste Corporation and resume contract with Arko Trash collection. The author's argument is a good attempt to figure out why attendance has decreased but it is not a valid or reliable argument due to the writer's lack of evidence, use of questionable assumptions and vague terminology; in order to have a reasonable argument the author needs to answer many questions which will be presented in this essay. It is stated that the attendance of the Bridge Beach by visitors was 50% lower last year than the year before. The author then states that this is due to the ending of the contract with Arko and the beginning of a new contract with Satellite. In order for this assumption to be validated, the author should address questions and define the vague terms used. To begin, how was the number 50% collected? It would be helpful for the writer to state whether this was collected through a reliable survey, because if this number was collected from weekend visitors two years before and then collected from weekday visitors this past year, the number decrease would not be comparable. Additionally, the reader of this argument needs to know the amount of trash that was collected in both years that are being compared. For example, what if two years ago the amount of trash was the same as the last year but in the last year many new beaches opened up in the area? This would suggest that the decrease in visitors was not due to the change in trash collectors but rather due to changes in the greater community. The writer continues to back up the conclusion with questionable assumptions when it is stated that Ocean Harbor, a nearby beach, that still uses Arko has " record levels of attendance. " The author uses this statement in an attempt to prove that the higher levels of visitors are due to Arko being the trash collectors, but again there is no evidence that the higher level of visitors is due to there being less trash. The writer needs to again provide statistics on the amount of trash collected by Arko at Ocean Harbor and provide details on the current state of the beach. For example, what if Ocean Harbor beach has more visitors this year due to the fact that they added rides and a boardwalk full of games? What if Ocean Harbor has calmer waters and offers a full bar and beach side food services? This could be the real reason why Ocean Harbor has more visitors and why Bridge Bay's visitor numbers have dropped. If the author describes the amenities present at each beach and it is proven that their amenities are then same, then demonstrates that there is more trash per square foot on Bridge Bay beach than on Ocean Harbor with valid statistics, then the argument would be stronger and reasonable; sadly, though, this is not the case in the argument presented. Finally the author uses the argument that there have been an increase in complaints about garbage on Bridge Bay this past year. The author forgets to add vital information here in order to successfully use this statement as proof to the conclusion. Who were those who complained? What if the increase in complaints of trash on the beach is from one single person who calls every day or multiple times a day? In order to have a stronger argument and use the complaints as proof that the decrease in visitors is due to an increase in trash, the writer needs to provide details on the content of the complaints, and how many people are complaining. In conclusion, it is important to address the garbage problem present on many beaches. In this argument, the city manager of Bridge Bay makes an unsubstantiated claim that their decrease in visitors last year is due to changing garbage collection agencies. The argument presented is not reasonable or reliable as the terms are vague and the assumptions presented have no validity or evidence to back them up. If the writer provides the reader with a comparison in amount of trash on the Bridge Bay beach in both years being compared and connects it to a decrease in visitors then the argument would be stronger. The writer additionally cannot successfully compare Bridge Bay beach to Ocean Harbor beach without discussing the amenities provided in both beaches and the amount of trash present per square foot. Finally the writer should provide more details about who is making complaints and what the content of the complaints are in order to have a stronger argument. With more research and work to answer the presented questions, the city manager will discover that their argument is deeply flawed and will have the chance to strengthen it and hopefully learn the cause of decreased visitors on Bridge Bay Beach.