Because the future will be dominated by technology we must make four years of computer programming mandatory for all high school students If our students take these classes they ll all be able to get high paying programming jobs and lead fulfilling lives

The argument is flawed for numerous reasons. Primarily, the argument is not cogent because it assumes that technology will dominate the future but has not provide any evidence on this fact and hence not valid. The entire argument is based on the idea that technology is going to dominate the future to come. But it is difficult to understand the way in which direction the future will go. For example, people living in the period of agricultural era may have though that agriculture would always thrive and hence they wanted to teach their successors about the very basic of agriculture. But industrialization supplanted agriculture based society as did technology replaced industrialization. So how can it not be said that in the near future another topic is going to rule other than technology? However, the argument casts generalization about the study curriculum of students. But by birth the understanding capacity of children varies. There may be some students who are not good at math and logic but humanity related subjects attract them. If the curriculum enjoins them to pursue their education on computer programming it is crystal clear that they are not going to be succeed. So generalization on study curriculum is a flawed idea. Again the argument assumes that after completing the computer course students are going to get high-paying programming jobs. But the term high-paying is vague for the fact that it can be true that a programmer, for example, makes an amount of one thousand USD monthly. However, the median earning of all people in that certain region is over one million USD. So had the argument discussed in details about the median value of the income only then the argument would be more valid. Again, mere theoretical education doesn't guarantee that a student will be successful as a programmer because successful in a particular career depends on a number of things such as: communication skill, ability to work in a group. However, the argument assumes that software related jobs will thrive the job sector in the near future but it is possible to occur a recession and this economical downfall may shrink the job sectors of software engineers and data scientists. The argument assumes that programming is needed in every aspect of life and hence the education of programming is going to be beneficial, which is not true. For example, a civil engineer who designs building should have the knowledge of basic structural analysis and reinforced concrete. It is true that he will use some soft wares while designing but it is not necessary that he should have the very concept how the software runs, how the core programming is done. The argument is flawed for some unwarranted assumptions it make.