The following is a petition to the city council of Centerville Over the past three years there has been a marked increase in cases of sidewalk rage similar to the irrational anger drivers experience on the road but instead among sidewalk walkers The resul

A petition to the city council of Centerville states that banning cell phone use on sidewalks is the only way to address 'sidewalk rage'. The petition argues that usage of cell phones leads to collisions amongst people, especially children who are too short to be seen. It also states that a similar ban was imposed in Middletown, which led to reduced sidewalk crime rates and zero complaints. The vailidty of the argument presented by the petition is subject to the availability of three key evidences. Firstly, it needs to be clarified whether cell phones are the only cause of sidewalk rage in Centervill. It is possible that sidewalks in Centerville are in bad condition, and this forces commuters to take tortuous paths along the sidewalk. This extra effort to walk can increase the annoyance of pedestrians. Another possible explanation is that sidewalks are too small to accomadate all the commuters, which in turn leads to many more people bumping into one another. If either of the above are true, the conclusion drawn by the petition is weakened. Secondly, the petition needs to make clear in what ways are the sidewalks in Middletown and Centerville the same. The petition prematurely assumes that the environment in Middletown and Centerville are similiar, and a similar ban to that in Middletown will solve the crisis in Centerville. However, this might not be the case. Perhaps sidewalks in Centerville are generally used by gang members and the major reason for sidewalk rage is a dispute between the gang members. In such a case banning mobile phones would not have any significant difference to the situation in Centerville. Another factor which the petition needs to address, is the reliability of reports that indicate the reduction in sidewalk crime. It is possible that the report is an informal account by an official who monitored the region for a very short period of time during which the sidewalk was not used a lot. Furthermore, the report could have been taken during the holiday season, during which the majority of the residents of Middletown go on vacation. In either case the reliability of the reports comes into scrutiny, and thus casting doubt on the argument presented by the petition. In conclusion, the argument presented by the petition as it stands is flawed due to its reliance on several unwarranted assumptions. If the petition provides the above mentioned evidences, only then is it possible to fully evaluate the validity of the argument.