The following appeared in the summary of a study on headaches suffered by the residents of Mentia. " Salicylates are members of the same chemical family as aspirin, a medicine used to treat headaches. Although many foods are naturally rich in salicylates, f

The author of the argument predicts continued steady decline in the number of headaches suffered by the average citizen of Mentia. But while extrapolating his conclusion based on mentioned factors in his argument author has forgot to provide vital evidence needed for his prediction to be true. He has based his conclusion without considering some important variables that affect the strength of his argument. First of all, author correlates the finding of his study with increase in commercial use of salicylates in foods. While developing this logic, he mentions that salicylates can be used to treat headaches. He also mentions that naturally, foods are already rich in the content of salicylates. Hence, he should provide information that whether this natural salycilate content in the foods, is sufficient on its own to treat the headaches of the patients, if not then how much more quantity of salicylate apart from the one that we get naturally from foods, is needed to treat the headaches of an average citizen of Mentia. He should also provide some data reporting the total content of salicylates present in the preservated foods. This data can be helpful to know that whether the preservated foods really contain salicylates in sufficient amount to treat headaches and thus can be linked to the trend of decrease in reported headaches. Also, author does not provide any data about the sales of aspirin that is medically used to treat headaches. Because, if the sales of the aspirin drug has raised, it means that more aspirin is consumed by the citizens than before and thus, reduced number of cases of headaches is a result of the increased consumption of apirin and not the salicylates in the preserved foods. And thus to expect continued decline in number of reports of headaches is not logical. Also, even if Salicylate is assumed to be responsible for reduction in reports of headaches, it is wrong to assume that this trend will continue in future. Author cites that recently, food-processing companies have found that salicylates can also be used as flavour additives and thus it is reasonable to expect decline in reported number of headaches in city of Mentia as now companies will increase use of Salicylates in their products. But author fails to give any evidence that food-companies are actually willing to produce foods with salicylates as flavour additives and increased amount of Salicylate present in the foods will actually be more effective. Because it is quite reasonable that companies think that, as they already are using salicylates as a preservative in foods, there is no further need to add more salycylates to the foods, as the existing amount of salicylates is functioning both as a preservative and also as a flavour additive. Hence, author needs to cite some examples of products which companies might actually produce in near future, containing increased amount of Salicylates. Hence, author needs to provide a lot of relevent data reporting some important information to come to a solid conclusion. Also, he needs to provide some examples of products which will be launched by companies which contain more salicylates. But, as such authors argument is flawed and lack sufficient evidence to be more persuasive.