Our work proves to be very successful. In the past three years, each of our five clients hasexperienced the fastest growth of sales in their history. Therefore, if your company meetsmanagement problems, do not hesitate to call Sigma, since we are the best

The argument that Sigma' consultancy is very successful is based on the unprecedented performance of Sigma's past five clients. The author tried to convey that Sigma's consulting helped its clients increasing their business volume. While the line of reasoning is somewhat persuasive, it committed the Insufficient Sample Fallacy and therefore is logically not sound. First of all, the argument commits the Insufficient Sample Faulty. The author made conclusion that its clients achieved the greatest increase in sales by illustrating only five of their clients. It is possible that the majority of their clients did not experience the mentioned growth of sales. So, the author should address more clients so as to generate the conclusion for its success of consulting job. Second, the author made a wrong comparison. When the arguer tried to prove that their clients performed better than other companies, he committed an even more serious fallacy by comparing its current performance with historical performance. Rather, the author should compare its clients' performance with that of other companies. Finally, the argument potentially assumed that the consultancy is the only factor that determines the success of its clients. Actually, it may be other factors that constitute to the success of these five clients. For example, the board of directors just reappointed a new CEO who has proved successful in his past years of managing career and possess resourceful experience in this kind of industry. Without eliminating other factors, the argument is not sound. Moreover, even if Sigma really proves successful to help its clients in regain wonderful sales history, it does not guarantee its superiority of solving management problems since management is only one of the functions that a company daily encounter and a consulting company can help to solve. In sum, the argument is neither sound nor convincing since it overlooks many possibilities that must be addressed to strengthen its statement. If it included the items described above, it may be more strong or persuasive.