The flat world has provided global students with opportunities to study overseas.

The flat world has provided global students with opportunities to study overseas. From my personal perspective, the drawbacks of this development are outweighed by its merits due to intellectual contribution that these students bring about. On the one hand, a handful of individuals contend that acquiring knowledge from exotic nations are useless for a combination of reasons. In the first place, those students who are able to study abroad consider this chance as life-transforming opportunities and unlikely to return to their fatherlands. This can be attributed to the fact that these prosperous nations offer talented students attractive social welfares as well as highly living conditions. Therefore, students are convinced to devote their quintessential knowledge to the hosting country. For example, there is a vast majority of high-school students who consider the chance to continue their academic careers a way to emigrate to the land of milk and honey such as Canada as well as USA. As a result, developing nations such as Vietnam or Cambodia will gradually lack of intellectuals. On the other hand, I firmly reckon that the negative aspects of this trend are utterly eclipsed by its immediate benefits. Firstly, despite the fact that many people leave their motherland for superior places to settle down, there are still many students who deem studying abroad as a chance to enhance their specialized knowledge in order to support their homeland. For example, there are various national funds in Vietnam created with the aim of sending gifted individuals to leading nations regarding car manufacturing industry such as Japan or South Korea. After years of being professionally trained, these students repatriate and serve for the development of the country. In the long-term development, these students act as a precursor for the advancement of the local industry. Another compelling justification is that sending students to other countries is a signal for global integration thus increase relationship between countries In conclusion, although studying in other nations can result in permanent immigration to the hosting country, useful knowledge obtained in developed parts of the world prompts industrializations. I am of the opinion that students should be encouraged to continue their university career in other nations so as to broaden their horizons.