The first car appeared on the British roads in 1888. By the year 2000, there may be as many as 29 million vehicles on British roads. Alternative forms of transport should be encouraged and international laws introduced to control car ownership and use.

The technologies developed rapidly along the increasing of human needs. Nowadays, people need to move and change places in a faster way than before. Due to that condition, cars were introduced to the public as the fastest transportation to fulfill the needs. Being helpful and useful for the daily use, cars are loved by most of people which lead to the over traffic of the British main roads. In this essay, the compatible subtitute transportation and related regulation are discussed to resolve this problem. The main causes of traffic is due to the number of vehicle on it. A single car mostly can be seated by 4-6 people, if it is fully occupied. While the volume itself is made as wide and spacious as possible for comfort purpose. In contrast, most of public transportation, such as busses, metros, or trains which volume is only 2 or 3 times bigger can accommodate more than 5 times of it. In this term, it would be more efficient and less space are used. Another causes is the increased number of car, especially imported car, due to the cheap prices when it is compared to domestic prices. From these reason mentioned before, government should take some actions to reduces the number of car ownership in the country to prevent the further over traffic. In my oppinion, lowering the price or even make it free fo the public transportation would lead to public attraction on public transportaion for daily use. Another recommendation is by making a regulation to increase the price of car so the prospective buyers would reconsider on buying a new car.