The first car appeared on British roads in 1888. By the year 2000 there may be as many as 29 million vehicles on British roads. Alternative forms of transport should be encouraged and international laws introduced to control car ownership and use.

In the third millennium the consequence of an abundance of vehicles has become tremendous. It is often argued whether a government should impose a law to decrease the number of cars on the streets. This essay will shed light on the situation and explain why the situation should be regulated by an authority. To begin with, a large array of private automobiles has a detrimental impact on our dilapidated planet. The noxious gases from outlet pipes are one of the most serious reasons of air pollution. To illustrate it, some seniors of an ecological department in Russia claim that almost 80% of poisonous fumes are produced by private cars. To address the problem the government of Russia has introduced a law that all motors should be tested by euro standards till 2030. This order has helped decrease the amount of the dirt substance in two times after the first year. Furthermore, the question with traffic jams is another huge challenge. Government should encourage dwellers to pick public transport, especially an electrical one, such as trams and trolleybuses. For example, in Germany, the policy has replaced all out-dated buses on sophisticated and comfortable ones. The citizens were therefore provoked to exploit new transport. Eventually, the high demand of the transport has led to ramping up contributions. So, this money stimulated further improvement of public vehicles. All in all, in order to mitigate the influence of cars on the environment and traffic jams the authority should participate. Otherwise, the planet will be eradicated due to huge amount of pollution.