The first car appeared on British road in 1988. By the year 2000 there maybe as many as 29 million vehicles on British roads. Alternative forms of transport should be encouraged and international laws introduced to control car ownership and use.

Since the first invention of the car, the numbers have grown exponentially in the most parts of the world. It is generally argued that alternative forms of transport should be encouraged and there should be control on car ownership and use through the legalisation of laws. I strongly believe in this idea, though some people disagree. This essay will discuss why it is necessary to promote an alternative to reduce vehicles on roads. While, those who support an increased number of car ownership, argue that alternative forms of transport are not reliable. They mean to say, the public transit lacks quality of service and that these tend to be mostly delayed or break down halfway due to lack of maintenance and so on. Ultimately, people are late to work and frustration rises and, thus the effects are seen in the reduced efficiency and productivity of the people. In short, it is not a good idea to encourage use of alternative transport options. However, there remain strong reasons in favour of encouraging alternative forms of the transportation services and putting international laws to control car ownership and usage. First and foremost, doing so will help to reduce the number of small vehicles; eventually reducing fuel consumption and co2 emission. To exemplify, a report published in The Hindu Times of India, said that, the introduction of a metro railway system in Bangalore has cut down 40% of cars on roads leading to the reduction in air pollution. Another reason is to save the resources used for building cars. Many organisations voicing for the environment have shown facts, that clarifies human are over exploiting natural resources, and we have reached a point of running out of them. Therefore, it is critical to introduce laws to control the mass production and use of vehicles in order to save resources for future generation. In conclusion, though it is true that often times public transits are not reliable, I strongly agree to encourage the use of other forms of transport and introduce the international laws to limit the car ownership and uses, for it is an essential step towards preserving the environment.