The extinction of languages

There’s a huge variance of languages on our earth. But due to globalisation some of them get extinct every year. Can this reduction to a decreasing amount of different languages bring any disadvantages to our global society? While I can understand that some people argue that less languages will make communication among different cultures easier, there are some critical elements to consider. Firstly, language is deeply connected to culture. Regional rituals and behaviours are often supported by the language that’s spoken. With the language abating the culture will fade away, too. Thus, people might struggle more with their identity and how to connect to their and their ancestors’ roots, which may lead to personal crisis and psychological problems. Secondly, a number of languages have created words for things, emotions or situations that do not exist in other languages (e. g. the German word “Ohrwurm”, that means a melody which is stuck in someone’s head). With wiping languages out, these words may get lost forever, while with keeping a variety of languages, even the huge world languages like English or Spanish can learn from the others and incorporate foreign words. On the contrary, a smaller number of languages might lead to a better understanding between nations and different cultures. If all people spoke the same tongue, there would be fewer misunderstandings and maybe more compassion and a greater solidarity between countries, too. So this could be a way to a more peaceful world society. To conclude, I would like to point out, that I can see some advantages in reducing the languages spoken in the world to a minimum, because it can make life easier and could even be the key to world peace, but for me personally the disadvantages are more sincere because the diversity of cultures, origins, and personal stories is what makes us human and what makes people grow through learning from each other.