Some people think newly built houses should be similar to old ones in a place. Others argue that they are supposed to build their houses on their own styles.

Some people put value on the consistency in the design of local houses, while others counter that they have the right to build houses on their way. I personally reckon that each option has its own ample benefits, which would be respectively crystalised in the following essay. Advantages of the idea that buildings in a local area are look-alike are not negligible. To begin with, this contributes to form a unique feature and the general aestheticism of the whole place. For example, in this day and age, newly built houses in Tay Nguyen province still follow an old pattern called “nha san”, in which houses are totally made of wood and built on tall columns, by which people have preserved their cultural value and gained lots of popularity among tourism unexpectedly. Besides, having similar houses could create an equal and sociable atmosphere among neighbors. Consequently, it could bridge the gap among people from different socioeconomic statuses and facilitate interpersonal communication in the resident. On the other hand, citizens should not be confined if they intend to construct houses in their own styles. First, not only is a house an accomodation, but it is also a home for an individual or their family for a long time. Owners should be free to have a dream house that brings them a sense of belonging, rather than a place that they are not attached to. Second, should a person draw his own housing plan, he can set up a house that is within his reach, instead of being forced to follow costly houses of people around. Because people have different financial backgrounds, this option gives them various chances to choose reasonably. In conclusion, both opinions have upside and are worth following. While the former idea might help the area become more aesthetically pleasing and minimize the wealth gap, the latter seems essential to each individual’s affordability and suit their favourite.